The extended management team at K2

Per Bakke As mentioned in a previous editorial in K2Nytt, the new organizational chart on K2 has been approved by the Institute Council. A new extended management team is part of the reorganization. The extended management team consists of 7 research group leaders and a representative from Stavanger, in addition to the department management. The 7 research group leaders have now been chosen: Emmet
Mc Cormack, Hematology; Eva Gerdts, Cardio; Henning Lygre, Pharmacology / Pharmacy; Per Eystein Lønning, Oncology; Pål Njølstad, Pediatrics; Vidar Steen, Genetics and Harald Wiker, Infection / Microbiology. In the choice of research group leaders to the extended management team, we have tried to let as many subjects as possible be represented. In addition, we have avoided subjects which are already represented in the management group (lung, endo, immunology, gyn / obs). I want to emphasize that there is no disallowance of those not selected. Each of the seven research group leaders will be in the extended management team for 2 years. The team meets once a month. In the extended management team the institute management wants to discuss ongoing matters. Examples are strategy, budget and finances, equipment priorities, educational issues, positions, lab areas and organization of application processes. The 7 research group leaders do not represent anyone but themselves. All the department’s 21 research group leaders will, like earlier, have a direct line to the department management and they will receive the minutes of meetings. The first meeting of the management team was held on Tuesday this week


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *