Daily Archives: Friday April 10th, 2015

Who deserves the K2s teaching prize 2015?

Eva GerdtsPlanning of the micro-details in the new medicine curriculum has now begun. A big thanks to everyone who participate in semester boards, the planning of OSCE exam, elective courses and other study program committees!  Good interaction between the semester boards and the various course responsible lecturers with teaching skills relevant for the current study plan and the students’ evaluation of this plan is absolutely necessary in order to obtain a good result: We must be able to revise what is not working in the current curriculum, and at the same time keep the best elements from our current teaching.  It is also important to view the study plan both cross-sectionally and longitudinally, and the semester boards for 9th – 12th semester will now commence their work.

In order to meet the future need for more student activating teaching methods, it is necessary that we all learn new methods.  MOF now offers 20 slots at the course Team Based Learning which will take place at NLA Høgskolen in Sandviken on June 16 2015.  More information and registration can be done here

This teaching form will, in particular, be suitable for integrated and case-based teaching.

K2 would like to stimulate outstanding teaching work. The K2’s teaching prize for 2015 is NOK 50.000.  Criteria for receiving the prize can be found here (in Norwegian).  Last year’s winner was Associate Professor Atle Brun.  Suggestions for this year’s prize winner may be sent to Eva.gerdts@uib.no within 20.05.15.





Correction of discovered error in the flexitime form

An error has been discovered in the excel sheet regarding compensatory time off (avspasering) in April, which causes the time to be added instead of deducted.

 This is easily corrected by doing the following:

Go to line 168 in the form, highlight cell 168 E.  In the formula box you will see that it says:  =SUMMER(E137:E167)-H168.
The minus sign should be +, so replace the text with the following: =SUMMER(E137:E167)+H168

Prizes of the Year 2014

The Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry will this year also award the Publication of the Year, the Research Group of the Year, the PhD-work of the Year, and Prize for Outstanding Research Communication.  Suggestions must be sent to Irene Hjelmaas by no later than 20.04.2015. Then the suggestions will be evaluated by the K2 leadership before they are submitted to the faculty by 24.04.
For more information (in Norwegian)